Recon question

Question and usages
Post Reply
Juggalo_X
Warrant Officer 4
Warrant Officer 4
Posts: 206
Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2007 10:10 am
Location: South Western Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Recon question

Post by Juggalo_X » Wed Nov 07, 2007 11:58 am

kinda got 2 here actually.

1) Can you get wide band o2 sensors with out a AFR Monitor and have them plug in and work and communicate with the PCM?

2) If you can will recon be able to data log from them like the OE ones? but with a wider range of course.

Also, In the recon software it would be cool if you could get a AFR gauge that takes the o2 sensor voltage and converts it to a rough AFR for you so its easy to see where your at roughly even with stock sensors.
Image
Click Here for Sniper Special Forces Tuner Review!
Click Here for Sniper Special Forces Feature Demo Video!

Mattr66
Warrant Officer 5
Warrant Officer 5
Posts: 292
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2007 4:58 pm
Location: College Station, TX

Re: Recon question

Post by Mattr66 » Wed Nov 07, 2007 12:44 pm

the only way to do something like that through the PCM is to substitute maybe the EGR sensor position sensor with the wideband voltage. Not elegant by any means.

Sniper could write in support for an a/d converter like the one from Data Q and you could input the wideband data into it which would interface to the laptop and be pulled into the recon like another sensor value.

The sniper wideband has inputs for rpm and can playback mixture vs rpm.

Just thinking out loud,
Matt R
Matt Robinson
Delta Force Gas and Diesel Tuner
www.gearheadautomotiveperformance.com

Juggalo_X
Warrant Officer 4
Warrant Officer 4
Posts: 206
Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2007 10:10 am
Location: South Western Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Re: Recon question

Post by Juggalo_X » Wed Nov 07, 2007 1:03 pm

Mattr66 wrote:the only way to do something like that through the PCM is to substitute maybe the EGR sensor position sensor with the wideband voltage. Not elegant by any means.

Sniper could write in support for an a/d converter like the one from Data Q and you could input the wideband data into it which would interface to the laptop and be pulled into the recon like another sensor value.

The sniper wideband has inputs for rpm and can playback mixture vs rpm.

Just thinking out loud,
Matt R
yah i was just thinking why get the dash AFR monitor when recon can do it tho? unless like i was asking the pcm cannot handle 0-5v on the stock harness and the AFR monitor is needed to achieve the wide bands full potential for readings.

and if i follow you corectlly the stock o2 harness dont do 5v so u would need to rob it from the EGR sensor feed?

and lastly refer to the bold:

that would be very sweet feature for recon even for the OE o2 sensors.
Image
Click Here for Sniper Special Forces Tuner Review!
Click Here for Sniper Special Forces Feature Demo Video!

Juggalo_X
Warrant Officer 4
Warrant Officer 4
Posts: 206
Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2007 10:10 am
Location: South Western Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Re: Recon question

Post by Juggalo_X » Wed Nov 07, 2007 2:18 pm

Pat and Chris, what do you guys think? the feature that i mentioned above is there a way we could see this on the next recon update :P that would be awesome
Image
Click Here for Sniper Special Forces Tuner Review!
Click Here for Sniper Special Forces Feature Demo Video!

Post Reply

Return to “RECON Data Logging”